June 5, 2013

  • aspie shooting the curl

    I LOVE Xanga. I ADORE Xanga. The Xanga platform has allowed me so much freedom to play around with my html, and it's more 'point and click' user friendly for my head than other blog hosts. I won't go into the 20 different blogs just on Xanga I've made over the last 9 years, etc.

    I'm aspie. I've never handled being a social person very well, but a couple of my Xanga blogs wound up putting me in some spotlights that had me recoiling like a salted snail. Even when the interaction is 100% positive, my nerves get a little fried because I misunderstand the social dance. I've been very happy with just having lurkers. I don't whine about not getting comments, but I do think it's fun to play with plugz and trackers and cross posting media links between my Xanga blogs, Twitter, Facebook, Tumblr, and so on. I daresay I've gotten pretty good at driving traffic, as I have demonstrated to a friend who allows me unfettered access to his blogs and forums at syfydesigns.com, an experimental playground being watched by a few twitter peeps, including Snarkalecs and Wormhole Riders. In particular, Lexx fans around the world know my grandfortuna Xanga site as being synonymous with Lexx since 2006 and have tracked through regularly checking on it for years even during the year and a half I pulled it all into protected posting. (Alas, my sitemeter tracker host moved and lost my original count, it is much higher than what it shows on my page.) In my eyes, Xanga isn't dead so much as not being utilized to potential by bloggers who aren't cognizant of how to 'game up' their traffic by cross linking. I sincerely have no problem paying for my main blogs because I use them heavily, and will gladly pay twice the yearly fees once Xanga has moved over to WordPress.

    Who I am on Xanga has been so important that it will be going into a book (hopefully soon). Learning to be a public person in media has been a huge challenge for me with my Aspergers, to the point of involving a psychologist since 2007. Autisable through Xanga was a big part of my personal breakthrough, and even though I rarely interact there now, Joel is a hero to me. I'm not good at fielding people contacting me personally when they find me and get excited about finding a fun and positive person on the spectrum, but I'm glad that whatever they find in me is a good thing.

    I have talked to a number of people about their online identities and personalities (I have a sociology degree) and how afraid some of them are to be 'real' in public on the internet. It's a very scary thing to allow yourself to become vulnerable. While I don't think it's a good idea for people to post pix of kids and grandkids for many reasons, I also don't think it's wise to be so completely underground that no one has a clue if everything you put online is a lie. Part of the book I'm working on has everything to do with who we are publicly and privately. Some people like to make fun of bloggers posting pictures of what they had for breakfast, or letting the world know they got their laundry done. I think people who deride others for openness and honesty are hiding issues of their own, and one very interesting personal story in particular rocked a world fandom because I have a blog on Xanga.

    Social media is a real thing, and such a big deal that psychologists actually study how people handle their interpersonal interactions on social media. My blogs over the last 9 years, both public and private, are a vital journal for me to go back through and see where I've been able to adapt and thrive, or where I'm stuck in a holding pattern indicating some difficulty in my personal growth. Blogging, for me, has been especially helpful since I have a social deficit, and I have learned to look back as a 3rd party and not only assess myself, but set goals. One goal has been to pare down my 10,000 word emails to a couple of sentences or a very short paragraph (or no email at all). I've been able to tame my compulsion to blab ceaselessly in print once it was pointed out to me. Setting my tone has also been a challenge, involving rewrites galore. And etc.

    I use metaphors in my head all the time. Surfing the internet is part of what I've become very good at. So now I'm getting ready to shoot the curl with Xanga in its relaunch to an upgraded platform, and I'm not going to get knocked off my (key)board. I don't 'jump ship' easily because I'm aspie. I'm backing up my stuff just in case, because that's the smart thing to do, but I will first and foremost always be a Xanga fan no matter what happens next, and long after Xanga goes *poof* and is gone, I will remember it quite fondly. In some weird way, blogs are like my fashion statement, I wear them like clothes and change them with my moods. Here I am bluejacky. And here is the core of who I am. Bluejacky has by far been the most popular blog I've ever made, aside from Lexx. This time next year I want to be wearing a Xanga t-shirt and say I survived the move, like people wear weather disaster tees saying "I survived Hurricane Ike".

     

Comments (3)

  • Wow, thanks. It's because of you, and those who are on the spectrum, and the families like mine that deal with Autism everyday, that I keep doing what I do. It's through stories that you and others have shared over the years that help me, and others, understand Autism more.This helps me understand my son more. And that's priceless.Thank you.

  • I'm gonna miss your neato magic stars with the mouse cursor. Hopefully Xanga² will transfer over that cool routine as well. *Grin*Seriously - we are all Xangans, @edlives. Even if Xanga does belly up (and I hope they don't), we have all learned some great cool stuff from each other. Friendship, Unity, and Diversity - without prejudice I might add. (at least for most of us - crazy trolls and such).I guess the important thing about Xanga² is they will charge money. It'll be like the two train exhibits I went to at the recreation center with Carlos a few months back. One was paid and one was not.The paid one I went to - MAN those kids were sweet and well behaved and everything and the exhibit was awesome and fun to look at with bright twinkling lights and incredible displays.The other one was free and the exhibit was poorly designed, cheaply made, and those kids were all messing with the electric trains and crying and yelling and carrying on, and asking for a binkie and stuff, and so were the parents.There is something to be said for something that is paid than that which is not - of this - I understand Xanga's wishes and I suspect this will cull out the 'bad drifters,' the trolls and spammers, and the hardcore bloggers can most definitely get at it again.My complaint still however is, most of the bloggers that did blog for free in Xanga were super-nice highly respected folk and deserve to get transferred in the Great Move too.

  • I'll miss Xanga and I'll miss you.  We've had some neat times together here at Xanga...and other places!!  Has LEXX really been dead now for eleven years?  Yeah,..I guess so.  Look me up on google,..kiddo!.......................Stanelle..aka... Emily Hensel

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

 photo surveybuttonsm.jpg

I've started transferring my survey posts over to Surveypalooza so people coming in from search engines on mobile devices will be able to see the surveys.

surveypalooza

Apologies for the missing vids, another upgrade during the server migration swept through like a scan sweeping through the Enterprise. I'll fix those later, kinda busy...

click tracking
since 3-5-14

Site Meter

Subscribe in a reader

Subscribe to Bluejacky by Email

Who is the Existential Aspie?

disclaimer- I am not compensated for linking and sharing. I share what I like when I feel like it.

my stuffs

Still waiting for a tweet widget update.

 photo dotcomlogojb.jpgdotcom

 photo yablo.jpg YabloVH

GrandFortuna's League of 20,000 Planets

 photo spazz.jpgjankita on blogger

myspace

View Janika Banks's profile on LinkedIn

 photo tumblr_button.jpg

Follow Me on Pinterest

janikabanks

Pinky Guerrero


HowManyOfMe.com
LogoThere are
1
or fewer people named Janika Banks in the U.S.A.

How many have your name?

my friends

Eric's blog  photo keepingconscious5.jpg

Dawn's blog  photo dawnsnip3.jpg

Vicki's blog  photo tryingnottowobble.jpg

Anonymous Aspie  photo aspieland.jpg

Fae & Friends  photo faeampfriends2.jpg

myke's place  photo syfydesignslogo.jpg

Nerd Movie  photo nerdmovie.jpg

Front and Center Productions  photo frontandcenterlogo.jpg

Kirill Yarovoy  photo revivalcomingsoon.jpg

Little Lexx forum  photo lexxboredbutton.jpg

Lexxzone on Tumblr  photo lexxzonelogo.jpg

June 2013
M T W T F S S
« May   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Everything I've got on this blog