October 27, 2008

  • the Barrow series- John Deakins

     

    Hey, I know this guy!
     
     
     
     
    This free autographed set came in the mail over the summer, very cool.
     
     
     
     
    Years ago I was handed a copy of the first book in its first printing.  Also very cool.  I would scan it, too, but it's with a big pile of books in my basement, and I'm not going down there right now.
     
     
     
     
    So anyway, I thought I'd google around, see what John's up to.  I found this cool interview.
     
     
    But there's way more to John than that!  I'm not going to spill his life story here or anything, but I always thought he was a cool guy and worth saying a few words about, so if you're googling for John Deakins to find out more, here you go.
     
    When I first met John, he was called Deak, or 'the Deakster' by the local high school students.  He was a fairly popular science teacher, into fantasy fiction and things like wizard card collections.  He's also a very interesting speaker.  I heard him speak many times back in the day, and he never once lost my attention.  I was never one of his students, sadly, was already past that by the time we met.  I'm sure he would have made a big difference in my high school experience.
     
    John is a very involved kind of guy, both in the fiction fan world and in real life stuff.  If I remember correctly, he's been editor of a science and fantasy fiction story magazine, and has widely discussed ideas and writing issues with a variety of people over the years.  He has also been part of numerous mission trips and come back with so many fascinating stories.  John happily plunges right into the worst of conditions and falls in love with helping people, whether they understand a word each other is saying or not.  In the past I've received some long letters detailing stuff most of us would cringe to go through, but it didn't seem to daunt John's exuberant spirit.
     
    Other than receiving the books lately, I haven't heard from John in awhile.  I'm curious about a few things, so I'll be writing him a thank you and hopefully hear back.
     
    If you'd like to learn more about these books, you can visit these sites to read the reviews.  I don't get a commission from linking to Amazon, just making it easy.
     
     
     
     

 photo surveybuttonsm.jpg

I've started transferring my survey posts over to Surveypalooza so people coming in from search engines on mobile devices will be able to see the surveys.

surveypalooza

Apologies for the missing vids, another upgrade during the server migration swept through like a scan sweeping through the Enterprise. I'll fix those later, kinda busy...

click tracking
since 3-5-14

Site Meter

Subscribe in a reader

Subscribe to Bluejacky by Email

Who is the Existential Aspie?

disclaimer- I am not compensated for linking and sharing. I share what I like when I feel like it.

my stuffs

Still waiting for a tweet widget update.

 photo dotcomlogojb.jpgdotcom

 photo yablo.jpg YabloVH

GrandFortuna's League of 20,000 Planets

 photo spazz.jpgjankita on blogger

myspace

View Janika Banks's profile on LinkedIn

 photo tumblr_button.jpg

Follow Me on Pinterest

janikabanks

Pinky Guerrero


HowManyOfMe.com
LogoThere are
1
or fewer people named Janika Banks in the U.S.A.

How many have your name?

my friends

Eric's blog  photo keepingconscious5.jpg

Dawn's blog  photo dawnsnip3.jpg

Vicki's blog  photo tryingnottowobble.jpg

Anonymous Aspie  photo aspieland.jpg

Fae & Friends  photo faeampfriends2.jpg

myke's place  photo syfydesignslogo.jpg

Nerd Movie  photo nerdmovie.jpg

Front and Center Productions  photo frontandcenterlogo.jpg

Kirill Yarovoy  photo revivalcomingsoon.jpg

Little Lexx forum  photo lexxboredbutton.jpg

Lexxzone on Tumblr  photo lexxzonelogo.jpg

October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Everything I've got on this blog