Month: November 2013

  • The Story Behind Yablo

    My blog is coming back, yay!!!! I got impatient and started fixing all the mangled html, and now some of it is mangled again because Xanga has finally got more of the root template stuff up. If anything, this relaunch onto new servers has taught me patience and hopefully a much better attitude about getting through trying events.

    In the meantime I made a new composite blog at yablovh.wordpress.com to centralize all my personas into a collective One, as it were. In doing that I have come full circle back to my very first internet handle, Yablo.

    Yablo was a funny mix but fit my personality perfectly. I got the name from the Yablo Sprite commercial (there were hundreds of Yablos on the internet back then) and used to describe Yablo on group lists as being a Vulcan in a Hawaiian shirt and sunglasses. I guess I got a little carried away enthusiastically pumping little cult fandom groups up, because one zealot drove 12 hours to my house and camped on my couch for a few days. I really don't encourage that... Yes, it got weird and kinda freaky, but a great learning experience. It's taken a few years to appreciate that even someone playing on a blog can develop a little fandom.

     photo partyspock-2.jpg

    Yablo disappeared and Janika Banks emerged, went through another learning experience, and then Bluejacky was born. After Bluejacky disappeared, Pinky Guerrero slid onto the stage. These have been my main avatars representing myself to the world, but the Xanga relaunch catapulted me into a salvage frenzy that made me realize I need *all* of me to survive living on the internet. I must accept that my Spock & Spongebob mentality is a real thing, this is who I am, and only exposing bits and pieces of who I am gets me into all kinds of trubbas, because although readers seem to love the quirks, eventually the quirks kill the relationships without more context.

    I am Janika Yablo Banks, aspie eccentric, with mucho verbal skillz. I am realizing it's up to me to create my world for reals, and that I really do need friends around me.

    And I'm still evolving, gathering yet another fandom into who I am. Please to join me in frivolities on twitter, facebook, and my Lexx blog. You'll have to click the vid pic to hear the music, I'm still wrangling with Xanga over getting vid embeds going.

     photo loca.jpg

     

 photo surveybuttonsm.jpg

I've started transferring my survey posts over to Surveypalooza so people coming in from search engines on mobile devices will be able to see the surveys.

surveypalooza

Apologies for the missing vids, another upgrade during the server migration swept through like a scan sweeping through the Enterprise. I'll fix those later, kinda busy...

click tracking
since 3-5-14

Site Meter

Subscribe in a reader

Subscribe to Bluejacky by Email

Who is the Existential Aspie?

disclaimer- I am not compensated for linking and sharing. I share what I like when I feel like it.

my stuffs

Still waiting for a tweet widget update.

 photo dotcomlogojb.jpgdotcom

 photo yablo.jpg YabloVH

GrandFortuna's League of 20,000 Planets

 photo spazz.jpgjankita on blogger

myspace

View Janika Banks's profile on LinkedIn

 photo tumblr_button.jpg

Follow Me on Pinterest

janikabanks

Pinky Guerrero


HowManyOfMe.com
LogoThere are
1
or fewer people named Janika Banks in the U.S.A.

How many have your name?

my friends

Eric's blog  photo keepingconscious5.jpg

Dawn's blog  photo dawnsnip3.jpg

Vicki's blog  photo tryingnottowobble.jpg

Anonymous Aspie  photo aspieland.jpg

Fae & Friends  photo faeampfriends2.jpg

myke's place  photo syfydesignslogo.jpg

Nerd Movie  photo nerdmovie.jpg

Front and Center Productions  photo frontandcenterlogo.jpg

Kirill Yarovoy  photo revivalcomingsoon.jpg

Little Lexx forum  photo lexxboredbutton.jpg

Lexxzone on Tumblr  photo lexxzonelogo.jpg

November 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Jan »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Everything I've got on this blog