Day: December 28, 2012

  • New Year Survey- 2013

    So, are you excited for the new year?
    New year, all new surprises. This last year was kind of like the Hercules reruns I've been watching on The Hub (and the New Year's Eve Hercul-EVE marathon coming up), culminating in idiots being thrown into village wells and such. Who does that? Why do they throw dirty sweaty bodies into the drinking water and think they did the village a service saving them from bullies? They still have to haul some pretty cranky bullies out of the well and then drink that water. I think I'd find that a little insulting. Now if it was Hercules that got thrown in, it would be a little more pleasurable pulling him back out, but when he's the one who walks off after throwing the icky guys in, I think I'd be a little grumpy with the son of Zeus. So this year could go in any direction, really, depends on how you look at it- if your well is half empty or half full, either way it's got a hairy body in it that needs hauling out.
     
                      
     
    What was your favorite thing about this past year?
    The Merlin fandom, hands down. Even though I live streamed the 5th season direct from BBC One while I watched distraught fans freak out live on twitter, I still can't wait for it to start over again in the U.S. on Syfy.
     
     
    Who was your best friend(s)?
    Scott told me to go outside and get pictures *during* a microburst last week when I texted him the roof was coming off. A few days later after repair and clean up, he let me know if I had, it would have killed me because the edge of a shingle gouged a chunk right out of the new deck. See??? I *know* when it's stupid to go outside, duh. He thought I was just being wimpy. He thinks he's superman because he climbs all over carrying heavy stuff, kinda backfired this time. He's on ice packs missing work, not the young thing he used to be. Poor chickens are still missing half the roof over their pen. They skipped laying the day that happened.
     


     
    Did you fall in love this year?
    Did you miss this guy in the last survey? Now's your second chance to follow him on Twitter, just in time for season 5 of Merlin to start airing on Jan. 4th in the U.S. on Syfy. He doesn't tweet much, which makes it even more exciting to put him on mobile alert.
     
     
    Did you get your heart broken?
    If you'd rather get mobile alerts from people who tweet more often, follow the Knights of the round table!
     
     
    And follow Mordred and Gaius as well.
     
     
     
    Did you get a new car?
    Better, I got new chickens!
     
     
    Go somewhere exciting?
    I survived 8 hours in a car with my dad through Amish country and didn't throw up on anybody when I got carsick, but it *could* have gotten really exciting.
     
    Did you have a resolution for this year?
    I'm coming to grips with my severe arachnophobia for the first time in my life, which is huge considering I live in the woods and regularly get tarantulas and brown recluse in my house. I nearly gripped a spider as big as my hand when I reached out to grab a door handle, and nearly stepped on one as wide as my bare foot in my kitchen in the middle of the night. I feel about spiders the same way Xena used to feel about slaughtering thousands of people while she was a warlord.
     
     
    Did you keep it?
    So, resolution for 2013- Keep rebuilding my t-shirt collection! I have started off already with these two after-Christmas purchases, and got Scott the third for Christmas. Click pix to get to the websites.
     
           
     
    Did you dye your hair?
    I'm trying to grow it back out. It's slow going.
     
    Lose any friends?
    Jaizzy finally died. She was pretty old.
     
     
    Make any?
    The coolest friend I've made is a webmaster in the Netherlands. If you're a scifi fan, this is your ultimate pitstop.
     
     
    How much do you think you changed?
    I bounded back out of being a complete recluse that no one could find or get hold of to splatting my web presence all over the internet. My spell check is still trying to capitalize internet. 
     
    Did you grow any?
    I went ahead and slapped out a little over $500 to expand my little universe in a myriad of ways. And Scott totally upgraded my techability, that was cool.
     
    What month was your birthday?
    I'm the scorpioist scorpio you ever met. Brian Diva Cox (BrianDivaCox) on Twitter is on holiday break, haven't been getting any horoscopes this week. He's a nut.
     
    Was it special?
    The cosmic irony that is my life dictates that any special day must be made *more* special with other people's dramas and traumas until my special day is so piled on that it turns into the worst day ever. I don't look forward to birthdays and holidays for this reason. If I am to survive this life without taking any kind of bitterness to my grave, I have to let go of the whole idea that I could ever have a special day just for me and hoping that everything is wonderful and goes right and I feel great about the world.
     
    How were you in school?
    I was awesome, school sucked. My fave thing about twitter is tweets like these- "I wish my iPhone would stop correcting 'omg' to 'OMG', I'm not that shocked" The little chuckles get me through my day better than anything else on the planet.
     
    Do anything you regret alot?
    The problem with regretting a lot is not moving forward because you clog up your brain with angst and dismay and bitterness and all kinds of other negative emotions that don't do anything but drag your day down. I hold my regretting down to wishing I hadn't had that second cup of coffee so late in the afternoon kind of thing.
     
    Anything you regret NOT doing?
    That is Scott's specialty. It's redundant, but he seems to need to reiterate his list every weekend (for years and years), and once he gets past the list, the rest of the day is fine. He tends to multitask through this kind of stuff while he's defrosting frozen pancakes I've made ahead, till I'm ready to pull my hair out. All he has to do it zap the pancakes on high for 30 seconds, but he'll literally spend 5 minutes defrosting them in the microwave *first* while he goes over his regret list until I'm shoving him out of the way and stabbing buttons for him and telling him to get the syrup and shut up now. He says I suck the joy out of griping. I have ways of getting even. He asked me if you spell Mayans "Myans", and without looking up I just said yeah, and later ~after~ he sealed his Christmas cards, I asked him why he needed to spell it and laughed at him and he was all crap now everyone will think I can't spell, and I'm all why don't you look it up yourself in a search bar kind of thing. I used to let guys cheat off me during tests in high school, too, and they never learned. I don't regret any of this. You don't go marry a college girl so you can ask her how to spell. Or maybe you do, whatever. Here you go, have a celebrity apology for something deeply regretted.
     
     
    This is the thing he did that he apologized for.
     
     
    Was it a leap year?
    I actually had to go look, and yes it was. Next leap year is 2016, when my debit card expires.
     
    What are you most thankful for this year?
    Live streaming! How did we LIVE before live television from the other side of the world???
     
    Did anyone you love die this year?
    Since U.S. Merlin fans may not have seen season 5 yet, like I did live streaming this fall, I have to respect the whole spoilers thing and not tell you who all dies on Merlin. Remember, starting back up on Syfy on Jan. 4th! Ok, ok, I'll spoil a little- the queen of Camelot looks pretty dead slung over the horse unconcious like that. For hours and hours. On the same horse her husband, King Arthur is on... I laughed so hard. I mean, I love Gwen, but that was the most practical man scene EVER, poor thing. If you want any more, you have to watch the show.
     
    How many significant others did you have?
    Does anyone else ever wonder if Alicia Bridges was the springboard for Billy Idol's look?
     
     
     
    Did you get in trouble alot?
    We didn't know what to do with our old Halloween pumpkin and it was going all soft, so Scott busted it in half and we set it in the chicken pen, and those girls ATE it. *wow* Well, except for the shell, but they got it down to the flat rind. Took 6 chickens only 2 days to eat a whole pumpkin.
     
    Who are you going to kiss at midnight?
    This Emrys pic can double as a Father Time, how's that? And guess what- I'm getting TWO new year babies! Both my daughters are pregnant.
     
     
    Who do you WANT to kiss at midnight?
    Scott and I have the coolest lunchboxes. Mine is Spiderman, and it goes everywhere with me because of all my food allergies.
     
     
    What is your resolution for next year?
    Avoid the rocks.
     
     
    Who's house are you going to party at?
    I tried this nail polish from the Sinful Colors Professional line, # 927 'Nail Junkie', because I wanted something for Christmas without looking too perky, and this was cool, with all the glitter and dark green it was like lizard scales or something. And then a week later they all peeled right off in one piece, easiest polish removal ever.
     
     
    Going to watch the ball drop on TV?
    We'll probably look out the window at the lights in the yard before we hit the hay around 8:00. We're so used to getting up around 3 a.m. that it kills us to stay up till midnight.
     
     
    Will this year be better than last year?
    Oh, I hope so. This year was pretty monumental. I'd share, because it would make really awesome gossip and stuff, but then people would fling things at my head when I walk into their houses. Not a good way to make next year better.
     

 photo surveybuttonsm.jpg

I've started transferring my survey posts over to Surveypalooza so people coming in from search engines on mobile devices will be able to see the surveys.

surveypalooza

Apologies for the missing vids, another upgrade during the server migration swept through like a scan sweeping through the Enterprise. I'll fix those later, kinda busy...

click tracking
since 3-5-14

Site Meter

Subscribe in a reader

Subscribe to Bluejacky by Email

Who is the Existential Aspie?

disclaimer- I am not compensated for linking and sharing. I share what I like when I feel like it.

my stuffs

Still waiting for a tweet widget update.

 photo dotcomlogojb.jpgdotcom

 photo yablo.jpg YabloVH

GrandFortuna's League of 20,000 Planets

 photo spazz.jpgjankita on blogger

myspace

View Janika Banks's profile on LinkedIn

 photo tumblr_button.jpg

Follow Me on Pinterest

janikabanks

Pinky Guerrero


HowManyOfMe.com
LogoThere are
1
or fewer people named Janika Banks in the U.S.A.

How many have your name?

my friends

Eric's blog  photo keepingconscious5.jpg

Dawn's blog  photo dawnsnip3.jpg

Vicki's blog  photo tryingnottowobble.jpg

Anonymous Aspie  photo aspieland.jpg

Fae & Friends  photo faeampfriends2.jpg

myke's place  photo syfydesignslogo.jpg

Nerd Movie  photo nerdmovie.jpg

Front and Center Productions  photo frontandcenterlogo.jpg

Kirill Yarovoy  photo revivalcomingsoon.jpg

Little Lexx forum  photo lexxboredbutton.jpg

Lexxzone on Tumblr  photo lexxzonelogo.jpg

December 2012
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Everything I've got on this blog